Full List of Honorees at the 2017 Ghana Women of the Year Honours



The second edition of the Ghana Women of the Year Honours which happened at the State Bouquet Hall in Accra, honouring 8 Ghanaian women for their hard work.

Mrs Rawlings presents award to Hon Francisca Oteng-Mensah

Ghana Women of The Year Honours is an annual event organised by the Glitz Africa team to celebrate and honour women who are excelling in their various fields of endeavours.

Theresa Ayoade

Lucy Quist, Kwami Sefa Kayi, Ken Ashigbey, Charles Mensah, Nana Bediatuo, Ruddy Kwakye, Kojo Yankson, Kojo Poku and Claudia Lumor who are seen as astute achievers are members of the governing board. Their role is to select outstanding women who in their own ways and expertise use their positions and influences to make a difference in the society and also inspire others to improve their wellbeing and lifestyle.

Eugenia Tachie-Menson

This year’s event honoured Ghana’s first female paediatric surgeon Prof Afua A. J. Hesse, CEO of Manet group Dr Theresa Oppong-Beeko, Editor at Joy Fm Dzifa Bampoh, Eugenia Tachie-Menson, Producer/Director Shirley Frimpong-Manso, CEO of Joyce Ababio College of Fashion Joyce Ababio, Music superstar Wiyaala and Ghana’s Youngest Parliamentarian in the fourth republic, Hon. Francisca Oteng-Mensah for their bravery, activism, patriotism and success.

Berla Mundi

Doreen Andoh

Nana Asante Bediatuo

Nikki Samonas

Guests were serenaded with music from Faith Bekoe, Stephanie Benson, Adina, Mzvee and Irene Logan who went along to do a rendition of Whitney Houston’s classic “I’m Every Woman”.  

Squad Goals, Stephanie Benson, Adina, Mzvee and Irene Logan perform “I Am Every Woman” on stage

Host for the inspiring night, veteran broadcaster, Doreen Andoh also showed her exceptional public speaking and hosting skills by coordinating event programme perfectly.

Shirley Frimpong thanks board for awarding her at the 2017 event

See the full list of honorees for the class of 2017

Prof Dr Afua A. J. Hesse               – Excellence in Health

Dr Theresa Oppong-Beeko          – Excellence in Business

Dzifa Bampoh                                  – Excellence in Media

Eugenia Tachie-Menson                  – Activist

Shirley Frimpong-Manso                – Excellence in Arts and Entertainment

Joyce Ababio                                     – Fashion Force

Wiyaala                                               – Young and Gifted

Hon. Francisca Oteng-Mensah     – Trailblazer


0 I like it
0 I don't like it